Upcoming Virtual Events


Throughout the year, we host a variety of virtual events at no cost to you. If you're interested in attending any of the events below, send us an email at Duane.Runzer@igpwm.ca and let us know which one.

Phyllis’s dementia story: I am still me

Phyllis’s dementia story: I am still me
Thursday, May 16, 2024
10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 2 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

Join passionate Alzheimer and dementia advocate, Phyllis Fehr as she shares her journey with IG Wealth Management’s Vas Pachapurkar and Christine Van Cauwenberghe. They’ll discuss Phyllis’s refusal to bow down to dementia and ways to cope with and proactively plan for a dementia diagnosis. Phyllis also shares how dementia impacted her family members.

This session will cover:
•    Recognizing the early stages and symptoms of dementia.
•    Why advocacy is so important: “I am still me”.
•    Financial planning to support living with dementia and maintaining levels of independence.

There will also be a virtual Q&A session at the end of the discussion to answer some of your questions.

 



Past Virtual Events

A mortgage strategy: why it matters in the time of rising rates

A mortgage strategy: why it matters in the time of rising rates
Thursday, April 11, 2024
10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 2 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

With interest rates now roughly twice as high as they were five years ago, how will the significant increase in mortgage costs impact your lifestyle, savings and future goals?

And, perhaps more importantly, what can you do about it?

Join Shauna Clarke, Vice President, Mortgages and Banking Solutions and Ashish Utarid, Assistant Vice President, Investment Strategy as they talk about the benefits of a mortgage strategy built around you and how to integrate it into your overall financial plan.

This session will cover:
•    Housing market economic outlook
•    What is the impact if your mortgage is coming up for renewal in the next two years?
•    Why integrating your mortgage strategy matters from a financial planning perspective.

There will also be a virtual Q&A at the end of the discussion to answer some of your questions.

Tax Refunds: Why it’s better not to get one

Tax Refunds: Why it’s better not to get one
Wednesday, March 7, 2024
10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 2 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

Join Herp Lamba, Senior Vice President, Head of Business Development and Craig McIntyre, Director Tax & Estate Planning, Advanced Financial Planning as they discuss tax advice that could help optimize your income tax return with Revenue Canada.

This session will cover:
- Tax refunds, and why it’s BETTER not to receive one
- The differences between a tax deduction and tax credit
- How to reduce your income tax deductions at source
- What should you do with the extra dollars in your monthly income

There will also be a virtual Q&A at the end of the discussion.

How to transition from your
    business to your retirement

How to transition from your business to your retirement
Thursday, February 22, 2024
10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 1 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

As a business owner, have you considered your comprehensive retirement plan? Did you know 76% of small business owners are planning to leave their business, but only 9% have a formal plan in place?

Join Amanda Lang and IG expert Aurèle Courcelles, AVP Tax & Estate Planning as they discuss how to navigate retirement when owning a business.

Strategies to protect your financial future

2024 Market Outlook
Thursday, December 14, 2023
11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET | 3 pm AT | 3:30 pm NL

Join Philip Petursson, Chief Investment Strategist, and Ashish Utarid, Assistant Vice-President Investment Strategy as they share their team’s 2024 market outlook.
 

Topics include:

- Interest rates and the economy.
- Recession risks and inflation.
- Valuations and commodity prices.